Certified Islamic Insurance Professional (CeIIP) Program

Course specification for Certified Islamic Insurance Professional
 (12 credit points)

Course code

Course title


Certified Islamic Insurance Professional
 (12 credit points)

       Full Course Description

CeIIP: Certified Islamic Insurance Professional
 (12 credit points)

Entry Requirements

To qualify for entry to the Certified Islamic Insurance Professional, applicants normally must:

  1. Have completed at least first two years of a recognized four-year undergraduate degree or equivalent in field of economics, commerce, business, accounting, law and related areas;
  2. preferably be part of the banking and financial services industry;
  3. have appropriate resources to facilitate ready access to the Internet (check this by visiting our Technical Page);
  4. have ready access to a personal e-mail address; and
  5. have the skills required to access and manipulate materials delivered electronically.

Persons meeting the above requirements will be required to complete twelve credit points of approved study to be awarded Certified Islamic Insurance Professional (CeIIP). 

Recommended Enrollment Pattern

Normally, students must complete the units in the sequence in which they appear in the following table of description of units. Level I must be completed before a student moves on to Level II. A student must complete

  • ALL 6 credit points from Level I
  • Minimum of 6 credit points from Level II
  • Minimum of 1 credit point from Projects at Level II
  • Units E10 (Islamic Insurance: Products & Services)  and E11 (Islamic Insurance: Operations & Management) are compulsory.


  • It is recommended that Unit E12, Accounting Standards & Regulation for Islamic Insurance Companies should be studied after Units E10 and E11.
  • Students may undertake Project I and II together making 3 units of research, but must complete the other required 3 units at level II before this.

Units offered (Click on the units for brief description)


Unit name

Credit Point Semesters offered*

 Level I 

C.1 Sources of Islamic Financial Law 1 1, 2, 3
C.2 Islamic Law of Financial Contracts - I 1 1, 2, 3
C.3 Islamic Law of Financial Contracts - II 1 1, 2, 3
C.4 Islamic Financial System - I 1 1, 2, 3
C.5 Islamic Financial System - II 1 1, 2, 3 
C.6 Islamic Monetary and Macroeconomic Management 1 1, 2, 3

Level II

E.10 Islamic Insurance: Products & Services  1 1, 2, 3
E.12 Islamic Insurance: Operations & Management 1 1, 2, 3
E.3 Islamic Microfinance 1  
E.4 Islamic Investment Banking 1  
E.5 Project Appraisal & Investment Decisions 1 1, 2, 3
E.13 Accounting Standards & Regulations for Islamic Insurance Companies 1 1, 2, 3
E.7 Information Technology for Islamic FIs 1 N.A.
E.8 Marketing of Islamic Financial Services 1 1, 2, 3
E.9 Total Quality Management & Business Process Reengineering for Islamic FIs 1 N.A.
P.1 Supervised Project - I 1 1, 2, 3
P.2 Supervised Project - II 2 1, 2, 3

 * Time of offering of specific units is subject to change. Students are advised to verify from the faculty administration team before actually seeking enrollment.

Learners may also wish to enroll in individual units for professional development without being constrained by the award course structure requirements.